Website Resource List

For Word Study, Reading, Writing, ESL, and Life-Skills

ALL AREAS

TV411: http://www.tv411.org/

collection of videos and web activities on reading, writing, vocabulary, math, and science

 

K12Reader: http://www.k12reader.com/

printable worksheets on spelling, reading comprehension, vocabulary, grammar, and writing

 

Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/

videos and tutorials

 

Star Fall: http://www.starfall.com/

alphabet, phonics, and very beginning reader texts with audio and images

 

E-Reading Worksheets: http://www.ereadingworksheets.com/

worksheets and activities by grade level for all areas, especially reading comprehension

 

Grammar Bank: http://www.grammarbank.com/

online and printable exercises on grammar, ESL, reading, writing, and vocabulary

 

Free Online Learning: http://www.gcflearnfree.org/

great tutorials on reading, math, technology, work & career, life-skills

English For Everyone: http://englishforeveryone.org/

reading comprehension exercises, grammar, writings prompts and more

 

PHONICS

Sounds of English: http://www.soundsofenglish.org/

diagrams and videos for tongue placement, lessons, activities, and flashcards for phonics

 

Kiz Club: http://kizclub.com/

printables and activities for phonics, grammar and vocabulary, and nursery rhymes with printable vocabulary

 

ABC Fast Phonics: http://www.abcfastphonics.com/

tutorials with sound and cartoons

 

Phonics Literacy: http://www.phonics-literacy.com/

first hand advice and tips on teaching phonics

 

BBC Skillswise English for Adults: http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/game/game-phonics-tool

great videos for each sound, but be aware of differences in British English

 

 

VOCABULARY

Merriam Webster, Word Central: http://www.wordcentral.com/games.html

Merriam Webster’s site of games for vocabulary practice

 

Free Rice: http://freerice.com

select the correct definition and website will donate 10 grains of rice for each correct word

 

Dolch: http://mrsperkins.com/dolch.html

Dolch words for most commonly used words

 

Fry: http://www.k12reader.com/subject/vocabulary/fry-words/

Fry’s 1000 most commonly used English words

 

Cram: http://www.cram.com/

printable flashcards or create your own

 

Visual Thesaurus: http://www.visualthesaurus.com/

interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps – limited without subscription

MacMillian Dictionary: http://www.macmillandictionary.com/language-games/

visual and interactive language games

 

 

DICTIONARY

Merriam Webster Learner’s Dictionary: http://learnersdictionary.com/

word of the day, quizzes, core vocabulary, question/answers, dictionary with simple definitions

 

Oxford Dictionary: http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/us

fun facts about language, articles about words, grammar overview, wordlists, games & quizzes

 

READING

News For You: http://www.newsforyouonline.com/index.asp

newspaper written for adult learners with audio, exercises, crosswords – access with our code

Read Theory: https://readtheory.org/

reading quizzes for intermediate to higher levels

East Of The Web: http://www.eastoftheweb.com/short-stories/indexframe.html

short stories with comprehension questions

California Distance Learning Project: http://www.cdlponline.org/

on life skills, audio assisted, with exercises for vocabulary, spelling, and comprehension

 

Cengage Learning Reading Quizzes: http://www.wadsworth.com/devenglish_d/templates/stripped_features/devreadingquizzes.html

quizzes that offer self-assessment in comprehension

 

Book Pals: http://www.storylineonline.net/

books read by famous people, with lesson plans for each story

 

RHL School: http://www.rhlschool.com/reading.htm

short texts with comprehensions exercises

 

Marshall Education: http://resources.marshalladulteducation.org/reading_skills_home.htm

short reading passages according to grade levels, with audio assistance, pre-reading and after-reading questions

 

Reepworld Reading Practice: http://www.reepworld.org/studentsite/ReadingPractice.htm

texts for beginners, intermediate, and advanced students, with comprehension exercises

 

Bible Study Tools: http://www.biblestudytools.com/

Bible reading and study

POETRY

Giggle Poetry: http://www.gigglepoetry.com

Poetry Teachers: http://www.poetryteachers.com

 

WRITING

Learning Center: http://literacycenter.net/parents_teacher/

for beginners: practice with paper, pencil, and keyboard

Tar Heel Reader: http://tarheelreader.org/

write your own books using pictures from the huge collection at Flickr or pictures you upload

Freeology: http://freeology.com/journal/

printable worksheets and ideas to get writing flowing – see also “Writing” column on the left

 

GRAMMAR

English Grammar 101: http://englishgrammar101.com/

Road to Grammar: http://www.roadtogrammar.com/

English Maven: http://www.englishmaven.org/index.html

Cengage Learning Grammar Quizzes: http://www.cengage.com/devenglish/discipline_content/grammarquizzes.html

Grammar Check Infographics: http://www.grammarcheck.net/infographics/

Grammar Check Editor: http://www.grammarcheck.net/editor/

 

 

FOR EDUCATORS

TED-Edhttps://www.ted.com/watch/ted-ed 

TED-Ed is the educator subdivision of TED with educational videos

TEAL Just Write! Guide: https://teal.ed.gov/tealGuide/toc

guide to effective instruction in the area of writing for adults

 

Freeology – Free worksheets and more: http://www.freeology.com

printable worksheets for all areas and graphic organizers

 

Reading Rockets: http://www.readingrockets.org/

research-based reading strategies, lessons, and activities designed to help young children

 

Shmoop: http://www.shmoop.com/

study guides that are fun

 

Using English: https://www.usingenglish.com/

lesson plans, reading activities, quizzes, and grammar overview

 

Washington English Center: https://letcteachers.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/hot-topics-conversation-starters-for-esl-classes/

conversation starters for ESL clases

 

Puzzle Maker: http://www.discoveryeducation.com/free-puzzlemaker/?CFID=158912&CFTOKEN=99230441

make your own word-search, criss-cross and math puzzles, and more

 

Readability Formulas: http://www.readabilityformulas.com/

calculate grade level of any text

 

Cloze Exercise Generator: http://l.georges.online.fr/tools/cloze.html

generate your own cloze exercise

Education Place: https://www.eduplace.com/graphicorganizer/

printables of graphic organizers

 

CalendarLabs: http://www.calendarlabs.com/

printable calendars, including templates, religious calendars, and national calendars

ESL

History Channel Videoshttp://www.history.com/ ESL learners can practice their listening skills and learn about historical events, holidays, etcetera with engaging videos 

Story Corpshttps://storycorps.org/ Story corps has a collection of real-life stories that learners can listen to and relate to

Listening & Dictation Projecthttps://www.seminolestate.edu/adult-ed/els/listening-and-dictation/ A project by Seminole State College of Florida. Provides listening exercises organized by topics, which include Family & Parenting, Consumer Education, and more

 

English Daily: http://www.englishdaily626.com/index.html

dialogues, idioms, proverbs, grammar, etc.

Learn English Feel Goodhttps://www.learnenglishfeelgood.com/eslvideo/ Using short movie clips, learners can practice their listening skills

 

USA Learns: http://www.usalearns.org/

real-life scenario videos with subtitles and interactive exercises

Pumarosa: http://www.pumarosa.com/

for Spanish speakers learning English

Duolingo: https://www.duolingo.com/

learn a new language with a mini placement-test and track your progress

 

ESLAN-English Speak Like A Native: http://englishspeaklikenative.com/resources/common-pronunciation-problems/

overview of pronunciation issues and phonics under “Free Resources”

 

REEP Gateway: http://www.reepworld.org

animated stories in health, work, and family with reading, listening, vocabulary, and lifeskill practice

 

Learning Chocolate: http://www.learningchocolate.com/

vocabulary on different topics with images and audio

 

Using English: http://www.usingenglish.com/handouts/

grammar and vocabulary worksheets and printable handouts

 

DYSLEXIA

Beating Dyslexia: http://www.beatingdyslexia.com/

Bright Solutions For Dyslexia: http://www.dys-add.com/

International Dyslexia Association: http://eida.org/

British Dyslexia Association: http://www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/dyslexic/dyslexia-and-specific-learning-difficulties-in-adults

 

CITIZENSHIP

USCIS Study Materials: http://www.uscis.gov/citizenship/learners/study-test/study-materials-civics-test

Homeland Security Website: https://www.uscis.gov/

US Service and Help Center: http://www.800citizen.org/us_citizenship_test/

Reep World Citizenship Resources: http://www.reepworld.org/studentsite/citizenship.html

 

 

GED

4Tests: http://www.4tests.com/exams/examdetail.asp?eid=38

New Reader’s Press Test information: http://www.newreaderspress.com/hse-test-information

GED Testing Service: http://www.gedtestingservice.com/educators/freepracticetest

My Career Tools: https://mycareertools.com/ged-practice/

 

 

HEALTH

Healthy Roads Media: http://www.healthyroadsmedia.org/index.htm

Medline Plus Health Videos: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/anatomyvideos.html

Multi Cultural Educational Services: http://www.mcedservices.com/online.html

FDA-Medicines in My Home: http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/BuyingUsingMedicineSafely/UnderstandingOver-the-CounterMedicines/ucm092139.htm

Visiting the Doctor: http://www.literacynet.org/vtd/ 

 

VOTING

Easy Voter Guide: http://www.easyvoterguide.org/

non-partisan information about elections, candidates and issues in short and easy language

CA Secretary Of State: http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/

information about elections, etc.

Cal-Access: http://cal-access.sos.ca.gov/campaign/

reports about money expenses

Official Election Site of Alameda County: http://www.co.alameda.ca.us/rov/

includes information on your registration status, polling place, sample ballot, status of vote by mail

DRIVING RESOURCES

Free DMV Practice Tests: http://freedmvpracticetests.com/

Official DMV website: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/pubs/interactive/tdrive/exam

I Drive Safely – Driving Resource Center: https://www.idrivesafely.com/driving-resources/?vID=z3Xc&eID=827

WORKPLACE & EMPLOYMENT

Workplace Essential Skills: http://litlink.ket.org/begin_wes.aspl

register for free to access interactive video lessons on work readiness

 

Job Hunter’s Bible: http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/

tips and resources from the author of ‘What Color Is Your Parachute’

 

Job Hunt: http://www.job-hunt.org/

advice, guides, and free templates

Bureau of Labor Statistics: http://www.bls.gov/k12/students.htm

student resources on careers, maps on relevant statistics, economic information for cities, states, and the nation